Virginia's reckless driving law encompasses a number of different behaviors, including driving two abreast in a single lane.
Virginia Code § 46.2-857: Driving Two Abreast in a Single Lane
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives any motor vehicle so as to be abreast of another vehicle in a lane designed for one vehicle, or drives any motor vehicle so as to travel abreast of any other vehicle traveling in a lane designed for one vehicle. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit two two-wheeled motorcycles from traveling abreast while traveling in a lane designated for one vehicle. In addition, this section shall not apply to (i) any validly authorized parade, motorcade, or motorcycle escort; (ii) a motor vehicle traveling in the same lane of traffic as a bicycle, electric personal assistive mobility device, electric power-assisted bicycle, or moped; nor shall it apply to (iii) any vehicle when lawfully overtaking and passing one or more vehicles traveling in the same direction in a separate lane.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
Reckless driving is much more serious than a simple traffic ticket. If you're found guilty of reckless driving for driving two abreast in a single lane, you'll most likely be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. This charge comes with confinement in jail for no more than 12 months and/or a fine of no more than $2,500.
If you were driving without a valid license due to a past suspension or revocation and caused the death of another person as the result of your conduct, you'll be charged with a Class 6 felony. Felony reckless driving comes with a jail term of a minimum one year to a maximum of five years.
Contact Charles V. Hardenbergh for Assistance
A reckless driving charge can seriously impact your future, limiting your job prospects, military service options, and educational opportunities. Building an aggressive defense is essential. Call today to schedule a free, no-obligation initial consultation with Virginia reckless driving attorney Charles V. Hardenbergh.