If you've been charged with a DUI, it's in your best interests to seek legal representation as soon as possible. Although hiring a lawyer is an upfront investment, it's a lesser expense than the financial cost associated with a conviction.
Fines and Other Associated DUI Costs
A first time DUI has a minimum fine of $250 under Virginia law. A second offense has a minimum $500 fine. A third offense has a minimum $1,000 fine. A DUI with a suspended license has a $2,500 fine. If you're arrested while transporting children in the vehicle, there is an added $500 to $1,000 fine.
Additional associated costs include:
- Miscellaneous court costs
- Alcohol treatment program costs
- Vehicle towing and storage
- Ignition interlock device, if necessary for a restricted license
- Administrative fee to reissue your license
- Restitution, if required by local ordinances
How it Impacts Your Employment Opportunities
Depending on your industry, lost wages may be a factor as well. You may need to miss work for court appointments, which can be a financial penalty if you don't have access to paid vacation. If your job requires a valid driver's license, a DUI conviction may result in your being suspended or fired. Surveys of people convicted of a first offense DUI found an average wage loss of $4,400.
When you're able to get your license back, the costs of a DUI continue to accumulate. One recent study found that a DUI lawyer who can get a first-time charge reduced or dropped will save you $4,000 or more in car insurance costs alone for the three- to five-year period when the charge is considered in setting your rate. This assumes you have a clean driving record. If you've had previous convictions or an excessive number of traffic tickets, you'll pay even more.
How Charles V. Hardenbergh Can Help
Virginia attorney Charles V. Hardenbergh is committed to providing aggressive representation designed to minimize the consequences of a DUI charge. Call today to schedule a free, no obligation case review.